Closing My Eyes, a Poem of Grief

I originally shared this poem on Bubblews on April 28, 2014

The images come at me

Too hard, too fast

I close my eyes

Hoping they will pass

My eyes shut tight

Hands over my face

Screams in my head

Hoping to erase

I hear the words

From that morning

I try to shut my ears

To forget that warning

I’m like a child

Trying to ignore

What is sadly real

What happened before

A word slips through

A vision intrudes

Shutting my eyes

Want to forget what I viewed

The memory insists

Upon staying quite near

The images, the sounds

I continue to hear

Shutting my eyes

Does nothing to help me

Reality pervades

Forever in my memory

12096153_10153644253077278_1045429769266450965_n

One Comment Add yours

  1. This scares me and makes wonder just what you were shutting out. I was definitely draw in. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

