Lord of the Rings

The Lord of the Rings movies are my all-time favorite movies.  The book is probably in my top 10, if not 10, 15.  I’ve read the epic novel at least 3 times.   I love to re-read books that are special to me.  I’ve read the harry potter books probably 8 times.  I’ve read Les Miserables, Jane Eyre, Tale of Two Cities, Little Women, multiple times.  Great books can be read many times.

I wasn’t sure if I would ever read Lord of the Rings again.

I was in the middle of reading it, 6 years ago, when my son died.  In fact, I feel with certainty that I was actually reading it at the moment of his death because I read a LOT that night in bed (where I tend to read most) because I couldn’t sleep.    I don’t even like to think of that insomnia night because it fills me with what ifs.

I set LOTR aside after that night and didn’t pick it back up.

We’ve watched the movies since that awful night.   We just rewatched them this week.   And I’m feeling as though maybe I will re-read book.  I watched the films and all I could think of was how amazing the book is.

And that is the way of grief and loss….  we continue to trudge ahead on our path.  We grow, we heal, we continue to live.   Although I will always grieve for my son, because I will always love him, I am healing.

h

Leave a comment